Some Children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, due to the vast number of hobbies available and the busy schedule of parents, some children spend hours on their smartphones. This presents children with opportunities as well as challenges. It seems to me that negative impacts outweigh the positives, and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, children need to content with various health problems by spending hours on their smartphones. These range from physical to mental issues. For instance, the pose that children have while surfing on the internet appear to cause back and neck pain over the time. Another common issue is the trouble in falling asleep which is caused by looking and screen for long hours. Furthermore, children need human interaction to develop social skill, thus spending long hours on their smartphones won’t help to this strand of development. The final and perhaps most significant problem is the fake role models they might pick up on the social media platforms. By this we mean that, children at young ages appear to be unable to identify legitimacy of the information they are receiving thus could be misleading and harmful to them. It is true that there are some positives to the use of smartphones, most notably the vast amount of information and good hobbies available in many cases. Despite this, it seems that for many youngsters these positives are outweighed by negative impacts which could harm their overall wellbeing. To conclude, the physical and mental issues together with the need for social interaction are combined to make overuse of smartphones a potentially harmful experience for most children. This is not to say that all children would suffer this way, but it appears to be the case very frequently.