As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current era, making a profit is no longer the sole purpose of businesses. It is an opinion that enterprises nowadays pay more attention to social responsibilities. I totally agree with this point of view. To begin with, being socially responsible brings numerous benefits to enterprises. The first benefit is enhancing the public image which helps enterprises to gain a competitive advantage over their competitors. In the current era, environmental issues have become a main concern to the public, thus, focusing on preserving the environment enables businesses to gain the acknowledgement of the public and receive support from local governments in their economic activities, which in turn leads to higher business growth. To illustrate, IKEA has developed a strategy which focuses on only using responsibly sourced renewables or recycled materials to protect ecosystems and improve biodiversity. Thanks to this strategy, IKEA has become the leader in the furniture market. Secondly, many companies are getting more socially responsible to achieve employee loyalty. When enterprises focus on social responsibilities, there are three pillars that they need to cover, including the environment, society and other stakeholders such as employees. Therefore, those workers working in such businesses believe that they will be treated well as the way companies are treating society. In other words, they may feel that their efforts and contributions would be appreciated and their future would be secured. In conclusion, I believe that social responsibilities will be a new purpose of enterprises globally because this new trend enables companies to improve their public image and retain employees’ loyalty which are crucial factors for their business performance.