Some people say smacking children is the best way to discipline them. To what extent you agree with this?

Some people are of the believe that the best way to instil discipline in children is by smacking them. I disagree with this essay, reasons being that, it makes the guardian unapproachable, encourages willful disobedience, and sometimes pushes the children to make the wrong friends. To begin, beating can make the kids feel like the parents are not approachable, they tend to run away even when there is no threat to be smacked because they are afraid of the outcome,there is no freedom of action and they calculate every move they want to make. For example, a child who gets beaten, will not freely tell the adult he or she lives his or her problem, rather he will want to keep it to him or herself or talk to people outside, just because of unknown reaction of the parents. Getting smacked can encourage willful disobedience in the sense that, children will actually do whatever they like and do opposite of what they are told to do because they believe that at the end of the day, they will be striked. For example, a child is being caned for playing out late, will to do so knowing what will happen. In conclusion, I believe there are other ways to lovingly correct children, which does not