Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree

Some persons are of the opinion that unpaid community service in place of being placed behind bars should be considered for certain prisoners. In my opinion, unpaid community service should be considered depending on the edge,nature of crime and status of offence Community service in place of being placed behind bars can be considered for some persons, especially for offenders of young age who have acted out of ignorance and are first time offenders. By involving this persons in unpaid community works,they become of value to their community providing service that serves the need of the others. This also instills a humble and selfless character in them reducing the chance of re offending while ensuring they still remain an integral member of the society, thus offers them the opportunity of ensuring their future is not dented by the mistake they made, for example having not served behind bars gives them a fair chance of being gainfully employed bin a job of their choice,as some employers are skeptical of employing ex convicts. While being placed behind bars remains an option for some offenders, use of unpaid community service for some persons is an option which highly benefits the society.