Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.Why is this the case?Is this a positive or negative?

It is true that children and teenagers today tend to spend too much time using their smartphones every day. There are some factors which help to account for this trend, and it may lead to poor development in their social skills. To begin with, on account of the emergence of smartphones, children today can easily spend most of their time with their smartphones and there are a number of reasons to explain why this is happening. Firstly, children can have opportunities to do whatever they want using smartphones. For instance, even though they don’t attend a lesson at school, they can learn a lot of things from abundant resources on the Internet, and communicate with others including those who are the same age and even entrepreneurs living in a remote region, which may be a cause of something forcing them to feel like staying indoors and be unwilling to play outside. Moreover, easy accessibility to fascinating game apps gives them a strong temptation to play them. In order to enjoy such an activity, people used to have to visit a friend’s house or an amusement facility, which seemed a bit tiresome for children. However, children can play games shortly after holding their smartphones up and tapping them just several times. Unfortunately, there are some totally negative effects on children ’s psychological and physical development. For instance, if a child has his eyes glued to the screen of the smartphone while talking with his parents at a meal, he doesn’t really respond to his parents, which may cause him a lack of language command required to live in harmony with people in society. Furthermore, as children are directly exposed to blue light that is output from the display, there might be a risk of losing their sight. As a result, it would make it impossible for them to become specific occupations which will require them good sight, such as a pilot and a police officer. In conclusion, allowing children to possess their own smartphones and spend too much time playing with them would affect them negatively in terms of their development. In addition, it has a possibility that children ’s dreams to be limited in the long term.