The trend of increasing tourism causes environmental problems in many parts of the world. What are the main causes of pollution it creates? What can be done to reduce it?

It has been witnessed that the blooming global tourism business has posed a number of problems in the environments of destination countries. The essay will outline several reasons for this and suggest some potential solutions. It is undoubted the increasing number of tourists from all around the world has brought some local environmental issues. One cause of this is people tend to dump residuals and food waste during their stay at tourist attractions. Besides, an increasing number of vehicles ranging from coaches to taxis to rented cars carrying travellers around the areas results in more severe air pollution. Those vehicles will continuously emit carbon dioxide if local tourism keeps flourishing. Also, environmental damage lies in frequent visits to natural habitats where crowds can leave large amounts of artificial waste, in turn, causing potential problems with maintenance. Fortunately, there is a range of solutions that proved to be effective to address the issues above. Firstly, local tourism authorities can deploy trash bins, signs, and patrols at hot travel spots, providing convenience with waste dumping and at the same time closely tracking non-environmentally friendly behaviours conducted by visitors. Secondly, the transport department can invest more money to improve the public transport infrastructure. Tourists who acknowledge how sophisticated subways and buses are will be more willing to shift to more cost-wisely options which are also less-pollutant ones. Lastly, local governments should come up with seasonal limits for the daily entrance into those habitats like wetlands where various birds migrate to and from throughout the year. The measure can prevent crowds from interfering with animals’ life and habits. In conclusion, we should not simply discourage the truism industry from developing due to potential environmental issues it can bring since it is the fundamental economic driver for some countries, but local authorities and residents should conduct careful investigations and jointly take an effort to eliminate or at least mitigate the negative impacts.