Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree?

A wide range of people believes that having a car has more cons than pros. I will discuss these points of view with arguments in the following paragraphs. From my point of view, having a car is convenient and has a lot of benefits, much more than downsides. First of all, a car gives freedom of movement in most parts of the world and frequently is the only available kind of transport. Secondly, the car is the cheapest kind of transport and doesn’t need a big infrastructure to use. For example, in rural areas where non-cost-effective to build a railway or another public transport, the car is the most popular way of transporting people and different stuff. Of course, cars also have cons and the main of them is the exhausts of fuel burnable. It influences the health of people who live in big cities and could be the reason for many illnesses. Another one is parking in big cities, especially in old cities with old infrastructure where unreal to build a lot of parking places. Moreover, if the city doesn’t have convenient public transport, using cars usually provokes traffic jams. For instance, in my home city Krasnoyarsk, there is no underground or tram, only the buses, and citizens prefer to have their own car because it is more comfortable to stay in a traffic jam in a car than in a public bus. In conclusion, I would say that the pros or cons of cars depend on the area of living. In cities with developing infrastructure and public transport is no need to have a car, but far from the cities car is the most popular option.