Although some people say it takes away some of our freedom, smoking should be banned in all public places. Do you agree or disagree?

Till today, smoking has always been present in spite of what science warns about it. It is also true that it is a personal choice, however, the consequences do not only apply to the smoker but as well as to the surrounding people and the environment. Therefore, my personal position totally agrees that this habit should be prohibited in all public places and the following essay will provide supporting arguments. Firstly, smoking undoubtedly wreaks havoc on our health by damaging the lungs, causing cancers and reducing the quality of life. to exemplify, The World Health Organization revealed that 8 million people die prematurely due to tobacco use each year. Furthermore, economically speaking, smoking costs the world's economy more than one trillion dollars annually in healthcare expenditure and lost productivity. Moreover, it constitutes one of the hardest addictions that individuals face today and which science restlessly failed to overcome. Secondly, it harms the environment at multiple levels. to elaborate, it increases CO2 emissions leading to a greater greenhouse effect, consequently harming the climate and at the same time, contributing to the extinction of many species that subsequently find their habitat destroyed. Another worrying issue is that ashes partake in air contamination which is a serious form of pollution that can practically not be reversed. To sum up, what has been stated above clearly depicts the deleterious effect of smoking, thus, categorizing tobacco as a harmful substance to both the living body and the planet, hence, strict measures must be taken to prohibit inhaling tobacco actively or passively.