Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

The phenomena of less number of students persuade further education in the science fields in certain nations could be derived from various causes, such as the lack of teaching materials. Since science is essential knowledge to tackle crucial issues in the world, including the energy crisis, and extreme weather, the shortage of talent as such could put societies into a vulnerable situation. One of the cogent causes a few people studying science in universities is the shortage of educational sources. In many regions, especially in developing countries, despite having a high demand for professional people in science -related fields, however, governments are not able to invest a tidy sum in educational institutions to refine the teaching materials to encourage youth to choose science as a subject in university. For example, to study astronomy, individuals need special equipment to observe planets, and to gain knowledge of biology science, it is essential to have laboratories equipped with essential tools. Knowing that they will not able to advance their capacities on campuses, the younger generation will unwilling to choose correlative subjects. Such situations could provoke various negative effects on societies in the long term. First of all, they will not able to come up with solutions to reduce the impacts of natural catastrophes. Take Holland as an example, experts build houses which could flaw above the water to reduce the impact caused by the rise of sea level. Moreover, such nations will highly depend on other countries to provide advanced technologies, which could not ensure a stable supply, as the high-speed trains in China, are purchased from foreign countries, makes it hard to maintain the costs of advancing their transport systems. To conclude, there are many countries nowadays that encounter a shortage of university students studying subjects of science, which is due to the lack of teaching sources and environments, it could lead to various drawbacks to societies. Including the lack of capacity to handling different hazards, and highly rely on other countries to provide sources to conduct advanced construction.