The impact of artificial intelligence on the job market: Will AI create new jobs or replace existing ones?

The development of artificial intelligence has been going on for 80 years, but the pace of work has accelerated recently. Twenty years ago, scientists were comparing the capabilities of an artificial brain to those of a four-year-old child, but the solutions recently presented to the public make us wonder where we are in the development of artificial intelligence. This is particularly pertinent when we consider that the next technological revolution is just around the corner. But is it really just around the corner? Before we look at the current changes, let us remember the previous technological revolution, in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. The changes that were introduced into our lives then changed us forever. We began as a rather feudal society, often with some form of slavery and/or serfdom, while we ended that phase as a largely working-class society. Where most people live has changed, working hours have changed, many new roles have emerged and many others have been marginalised or even disappeared. Let's look at how our lives have changed over the last 40 years. At the beginning of this period, if you had a broken watch, you went to a watchmaker, and if you had your shoes repaired, you went to a shoemaker. Today, these two specialities are virtually non-existent and are carried out by people who are often of retirement age and have no one to pass their knowledge on to. However, there is a significant demand for new skills, for example in telecommunications or IT. So let us now consider what might await us on the threshold of the second technological revolution. Certainly, many of the jobs we know today will be marginalised, especially those that can be performed by more or less complex robots. At the same time, we must not forget that the need for people who know how to operate and repair these machines will increase significantly. There will be more of these changes, and it is now difficult to say with certainty which jobs will not survive and which will become more relevant or completely new. In conclusion, the change we are facing is not new to humanity. While the first change affected slightly different aspects of our lives, this one will have a huge impact, mainly on the need for specific qualifications. We will need less of the so-called humanistic abilities, and the so-called technical skills will be necessary for almost everyone. The only unknown is the pace of change, but none of us can say.