Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today's world, the development in technology has lead to the invention of smartphones. The method of communication has evolved over the years. From mails and landlines, to mobile phone and smartphones, communication and social interaction has been made easier. However, young generation spend a large amount of their time on smartphones. As much as, smartphones have made our life easier, its overuse can generate damaging effects. To commence with, young children are most affected by this new invention. There are multiple reasons for the exploitation of smartphones. Firstly, social media has gained popularity over past few years. Applications, such as, facebook, instagram, snapchat and tiktok have influenced young minds tremendously. Secondly, many young individuals are earning by means of content creation. For example, they make a video of something they enjoy and upload it to become famous. As a result, many brands provide them with incentives and products which they can use in these videos. This has become a new way of advertisement. However, I believe its disadvantages outweigh its advantages. For some people, it is a source of earning, whereas, for others, it has limited their creativity. Children spend hours scrolling through newsfeed and gain minimum knowledge. Before the invention of smartphones, books were used as a medium of entertainment. For example, mothers used books to read bed time stories and it increased child's ability to think. Moreover, children, nowadays are becoming bed-ridden and do not involve in physical activities. This has encouraged sedentary lifestyle among individuals. To conclude, smartphones have a negative impact on our generation. It has restricted their vision and reduced their decision-making capability. Smartphones can be beneficial for improving social interaction and can be used for the purpose of money-making. However, its use is being exploited by young population.