With deforestation, urban development and illegal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered as they lose their habitat and some are even threatened to the point of extinction. Do you think it is important to protect animals? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

Over the years we have seen massive ignorance from humans in terms of protecting other species. We have been indulged in some grave activities like deforestation, urban development and hunting, that has endangered numerous species and even brought a few to the brink of extinction. This practice should be widely discouraged as the preservation of wildlife is of utmost importance. Steps should be taken at a higher level to discourage these inhumane practices before it becomes too late. Mankind needs to comprehend the fact that mother earth belongs to humans and animals alike. Protection of their natural habitat and disregarding cruel practices like hunting should be every individual’s responsibility. That’s because the wildlife is of utmost importance to sustain the overall ecosystem. Without animals, we would run out of essentials like food and water. In short, the human survival is dependent on the survival of other species as both are codependent. All the world leaders should solemnly and swiftly come on a single page to protect wildlife. They should devise strict rules and policies and should impose heavy penalties to ensure adherence. Some of the countries in the world have already introduced such controls. For example, in Kenya, a person guilty of hunting elephants is given a sentence of life imprisonment. To recapitulate, it is undeniable that animals play a vital role in the sustainability of our environment. Protecting them from direct or indirect harm should be taken seriously, not only on an individual level, but also on a government level.