In theie advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today's world, many businesses produce similar products and use advertising to ensure consumers that their product is better than others. The common way to achieve it is to present the product as a newer or updated version. Such products leave a positive impression on the customers because "new" often means "better" in their minds. However, usually, this approach is nothing more than a marketing trick, and some groups of people suffer the most from it. People always like to hear what they want to hear. When we are told that this new medicine is an improved version of an old one, which did not help us previously, we want to believe that this is our silver bullet. However, in most cases, it is not. Businesses use this trick to sell their products and usually do not care about our feelings and hopes. Some groups of consumers suffer the most - old people, poor people, and people with health or appearance problems. For example, when I was a teenager and had acne on my face, I bought about ten different "new and working" remedies, but none of them worked. As I said above, some individuals may be harmed really hard by such advertising strategies. Not only they may waste all their money on non-working goods. These goods may also distract them and make them feel safe and healthy when they are not. Some are just afraid to go to an expert, who might tell them that they have been doing all wrong for a very long time, and now it is too late. That is why I think it's a negative and inhuman tendency to promote a production this way. In conclusion, promoting products as new in some way is usually nothing more than a lie. Such goods attach our attention, make us waste our money on them, and leave us with nothing in the end. I suggest carefully choosing what you are going to buy and reading all the small words under the big and shiny logos.