Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary epoch, the public has become fully aware of the importance of voluntary work, especially when it is conducted by youth in their free time. I strongly support this view and will elaborate my stance in this essay with arguments in the below paragraphs. The first main reason behind my agreement is that youth will take the advantage of conducting such community work to develop themselves and build their social networks. To cite an example, young men in some Europe countries are required to volunteer around 150 hours yearly in community work such as planting trees, this would be helpful for them in terms of social development and building networks in their communities. Another piece of evidence why I support this view is that unpaid works encourage teenagers to be generous and to support poor people. For example, when a young man immerses himself to hold and perform community free workshops and ceremonies with poor students, he will really enhance those people's lives. As a result, the communities will be able to develop gradually in many sectors and jump to the next level. Moreover, teenagers will feel more productive, organized and energetic when they exploit their free time to serve their communities. For instance, a conducted research in Sweden states that the self-satisfaction of the teenagers who performed unpaid community work was three folds higher than the satisfaction of whom don’t engage in such voluntary work. In conclusion, many people feel the importance of teenagers’ engagement with unpaid community works in their free time to develop their communities. Personally, I think conducting the voluntary work will be a strong pillar in the teenager’s curriculum vitae, and encourage poor communities to develop.