Some people say that the fast food industry has made a negative effect on health, the environment, and family eating habits. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that the fast food industry has made a negative effect on health, the environment, and family eating habits. Personally, I completely agree with this statement for a variety of reasons. Firstly, it is proven that eating fast food has made a negative impact on health. One of the main reasons can be the harmful effect on the cardiovascular and digestive systems. This means that most fast food products are usually laden with carbohydrates and contain very little fibre. Eating fast food products will create spikes in sugar intake and increase the risk of diabetes as well as weight gain. For example, last year, when I was a student at university, I was too busy, so I ate fast food very much. As a result, I was obese and had a hard time in my life. Secondly, the fast food industry also brings about negative consequences to the environment. It is because of the release of packaging waste. In fact, fast food restaurants use a lot of packaging. Wrappers, straws, boxes, bags and other fast food packaging count for approximately 40% of all litter with Styrofoam (which takes 900 years to break down). Last but not least, having fast food can make negative changes in family eating habits. When family members have more fast food, they will have less time to be together to enjoy healthy meals. They eat fast food in order not to be hungry. In fact, it is much better if they can gather around the dining table, have homemade meals together as well as share their lives and have good family time. In conclusion, the fast food industry has made various negative effects on health, the environment, and family eating habits. I’m convinced that people should be aware of those effects although it’s an inevitable trend in modern society.