Housing is a basic necessity for everyone. Therefore, governments must provide free housing to those who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that recent changes in attitude towards housing have raised the question of whether or not government should provide housing those who are in need. In my opinion, though this trend has a few drawbacks, the benefits it may bring to people in life are tremendous. In my view, free housing provided by government might prove advantageous. The first reason is more closely associated with the fact that it reduces homelessness. This is, if everyone can have access to safe and affordable housing, it improves their living conditions. Having provided accommodation for people, governments will have an opportunity to boost their economy. Providing free housing can help to stimulate the economy by creating jobs in the construction and maintenance of housing units. This, as a result, can lead the reduction of poverty and inequality. On the other hand, I can empathize with those who believe that providing houses for people at no cost can be a waste of government funds. The main factor for that is it can create a culture of dependency. This is because instead of taking responsibility, people solely rely on the government to provide them with housing free of charge. Another important argument is it may not address the causes of poverty and inequality. More clearly, there are other more significant factors that can give rise to the nation's poverty such as lack of education, job opportunities, social support and most importantly food and water shortages. For instance, nowadays the world has a huge water deficit because of the population growth which is sentencing millions of people to hydrological poverty and that is difficult to escape. In conclusion, although there are some valid arguments against government providing free houses, I completely support this idea for several practical reasons.