Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, while some argue that technological advancements help mitigate the number of criminal activities, others hold the opposite viewpoint. Personally, I agree with the former, as progress in technology has had a positive impact on the world's crime rate. On the one hand, developments in technology will be at the core of an emerging kind of crime: cybercrime. As most transactions nowadays are done via the Internet, thieves can hack into one’s account and tamper with online transactions, sending the money to their bank account instead of that of the actual recipient of the payment. Another situation would be information thievery, in which one’s personal information would be stolen and sold to a third party, such as an advertising enterprise. For example, a number of frauds in Vietnam happened to middle-aged women, who were swindled out of millions by imposters acting as their children or relatives online. On the other hand, the advent of technology leading to an upsurge in digital media has helped solve cases faster and prevent criminal activity. First, high-tech programs can help detect offenders effectively and in a timely manner. To illustrate, in most of the Vietnamese police's criminal pursuits, due to the strong spread of social media, they can find criminals quickly and effectively. Another use of technological developments is to prevent crimes, which means that through the use of technology, crime attempts can be deterred. For example, released convicts will frequently be forced to wear a GPS tracking device. Consequently, many criminals have abandoned their recidivism plans because they could be straightforwardly sent back to jail. In conclusion, although some suppose that technological developments can facilitate crimes, other individuals believe that they can alleviate the criminal proportion. From my perspective, they not only assist find criminals but also they can help avert criminal activities.