In many countries, the population of old people is increasing. Are there more advantages and disadvantages?

The demographic trend of an ageing population is becoming more evident in many countries. While the trend brings certain benefits, I believe the drawbacks outweigh. It is undoubted that seniors are valuable assets to a country. Their experience and intelligence accumulated over the years can play an active role in various industries. For example, senior and farseeing professors can lead nascent and novel research fields, and professional and experienced technical experts in manufacturing companies can provide comprehensive training programs and detailed instructions to newcomers. In addition, elderly people possessing high moral values can act as living models for younger generations to follow. However, I believe the increasing number of elderly residents can pose a wide range of problems for the state and individual households. Firstly, local governments tend to face a more severe shortage of governmental pension funds and social welfare as the old population mainly relies on government support for living in their later stages of life and the size of the working adults who are the main taxpayers is shrinking relative to the old population. Secondly, there can be extra burdens on both society and family. Local authorities need to place more senior-friendly barrier-free elevators, toilets, and other accessible facilities in public areas. Additionally, communities should hire more caring staff or assign caring tasks to the current medical workers. From a household’s perspective, young people would need to bear part of the financial responsibilities for caregiving and medical costs unmet by government aid. In short, while old people are considered treasuries for their valuable life experience and wisdom, I this governments and families would take more burdens as the challenges related to the increasing number of older populations are inevitable.