Consumer goods have become the most important part of people's lives. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, people live a materialistic lifestyle. Consumer goods have now become an integral part of our lives, as they have made living easy and comfortable. Some opine that these goods have become the most crucial aspect of our lives because we are heavily dependent on them. Certainly, there are some pros as well as cons to this trend, and in my opinion, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will elucidate the same in the forthcoming paragraphs. Over a period of time, there have been tremendous advancements in customer products. So, these developments have made our lives quite convenient. For instance, using a smartphone individuals can purchase items, order medicines, take doctor consultations, and even study online. Due to these advantages, we can now have access to everything within the comfort of our homes. Moreover, we can even connect with our near and dear ones who could be miles apart from us at any point in time. Thus, consumer goods like a smartphone have made accessibility to everything convenient. Having said that, even though the customer goods have made our lives smooth, they have made also made us very lazy. For example, since everything can now be available at the doorstep, people avoid leaving their homes. This makes them not only lazy but also unhealthy. Further, youngsters are hooked on to their phones for a long period of time. This affects their eyes and sitting posture. Additionally, due to a lack of activities, they suffer from obesity, diabetes, and blood pressure at an early age. Therefore, consumer goods have a detrimental impact on our lives as well. To conclude, although these products have negative side effects, the positive aspects outweigh them. As these products have now become our day-to-day necessities, but can barely imagine our lives without them. Definitely, they have become an integral part of our lives.