There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An insufficient supply of housing for the cities’ population can result in various alarming social problems. Many argue that the government is in the best position to tackle those problems. Personally, I also agree with this argument as I believe the government has sufficient financial capacity and power to take corrective actions for problems that arise and effectively outlay the city development plans for its people. The housing shortages can lead to several problems such as slum and squatter settlements in city areas, transmissible diseases among homeless people, environmental pollution due to improper draining and waste disposal systems, etc. Considering the adversity and number of people involved in those social problems, the government have to efficiently remediate the situation using its own resources. First, the land cost is one of the biggest ticket items in housing development. To tackle this problem, the government can identify publicly owned, unused, and underutilized land and remodel them for housing development. Similarly, the government can assist the development plan by contributing to the supply of infrastructure around the development areas such as hospitals, public transport, school, etc. Additionally, the reason why we see the government as the sole governing body to tackle social problems is that it is in the best position to coordinate the development process with other private companies and non-profit organizations. For example, the government can set up tendering process to choose the organization to administer and build the project or ask for medical aid for the people living in the settlement areas, etc. In conclusion, I completely agree that the government is obviously the governing body to plan and accommodate its population and alleviate the social consequences relating to insufficient housing supply in city areas.