In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Humans had a similar diet for thousands of years. However, the last 50 years have seen a radical change in our diet and the consequences have not gone amiss. Governments are embattled in health issues of their citizens and no one seems to know what to do. Yet, the solution is not beyond us. Nowadays a plethora of fast food are easily reachable in the majority of cities. It represents a viable option for low-middle class families to eat a warm dish outside the monotony of eating home cooked food at cheap price. Governments should face the possibility of imposing a higher taxation considering every aspect of this social problem, therefore sustaining financially healthy fast foods, replacing in a constructive way the incalculable amount of junk food that is currently swallowed by millions of people. The impact derived by the exceeding consumption of fatty and salty food is a burden for the collectivity. As a matter of fact, such a vicious diet leads to many terrible diseases such as; diabetes and arterial occlusion. These can be life threatening pathologies that have to be treated for long periods, sometimes with the need of hospitalisation. As a result the money needed to provide a proper sanitary assistance to all these ill people is outstandingly high. Therefore, undoubtedly governments should take some sturdy decisions about it, nevertheless respecting people’s need and freedom and giving options and incentives to poor people in order to allow them to be able to provide a healthy diet to their families and dear ones, for their health and for collective good.