Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that ex-inmates who have become good citizens are the best people to give advice to teenagers about the potential consequences of committing an offence, this essay totally agrees with this statement and will provide evidence to support this point of view. ex-prisoners have a variety of pointers to give to young men, first of all, these citizens who committed crimes and ended up with prison sentences are very aware of how this event affected their lives, because they once had dreams and goals, but all of that went away with that sentence. Moreover, they can describe to teenagers their experience in prison cells and how difficult it was to even survive there, because it is filled with criminals, murders as well as gang members, a relevant example is a documentary on CNN about survival in prisons in the USA, and it has shown the number of people murdered inside, and this surely will have an impact on an adolescent if he gets those facts from someone who has been there. Secondly, it is also difficult for them to adapt to society again, the reason for that is people don't look at them the same way as they do to others, as a result, it is so difficult for them to make new friendships or relationships. Furthermore, it is so hard for them to get a job or pursue a career and it is mainly due to the fact that employers won't hire them, for instance, a study done in the UK showed that most of big corporations and companies require their new recruits to have a clean slate so they can be hired, and if a teenager heard about all this he will think twice before doing something illegal. To conclude, there are a variety of arguments both for and against the involvement of ex-inmates; however, I believe that society can benefit from them.