Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people consider that the countries’ budgets should be spent on building railways instead of roads. From my point of view, it is the right position because the railways can make the economy stronger and help decrease emissions of greenhouse gases. On the one hand, in a variety of countries, most goods are transported by trains because it is the easiest way to deliver products. Obviously, the improved railway system may give a positive impact on the economy because the number of delivered products might be higher and profits will rise. For instance, China constructed a lot of tracks in the middle of the 20th century to use them for business purposes. As we can see now, it helps them to develop the economy of the country and take a large share of the world’s economy. On the other hand, using trains may protect the environment because they emit much less CO2 than cars. I consider that the developed and comfortable railways system may be more popular among people. It may help to decrease the number of personal cars. For example, in Germany, the railway is an important part of the public transportation system, since a lot of people choose them for everyday use instead of automobiles. To sum up, I am absolutely certain that government should spend money to build railways rather than roads. I believe that this is a good idea because an improved and quality railway system gives an opportunity to develop business in the country in a more ecological way.