In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the advancement in modern technology, it is expected that autonomous vehicles are getting popular in the future. While this trend is criticized for being negative effects on drivers’ job market, I believe that its merits outweigh its demerits in terms of road safety and environmental protection. Detractors of this development point out the potential threat of driverless transit on the job market. To be more specific, most people worry that using driver-free vehicles leads to a higher unemployment rate in the transit sector because jobs for bus drivers, taxi drivers and so on are no longer in requirement. To illustrate, a report from Employment and Social Development Canada revealed that over 600,000 jobs were at risk because of autonomous transportation, including parking attendants, auto-body repair workers and even police and emergency workers. Moreover, it is expected the new transportation mode would also kill 500,000 jobs, from vehicle drivers to subway operators and even courier services. On the other hand, I believe that using driverless vehicles should be encouraged because it improves road safety and reduces the environmental damage caused by gas emissions. Firstly, most traffic accidents happen due to human carelessness such as driving at high speed, driving while drunk or lack of driving experience. Autonomous transit vehicles are controlled systematically; thus, they can prevent human errors from happening which ultimately reduces the occurrence of crashes and accidents. In addition, self-driving vehicles operate by using electricity instead of gasoline and they can keep the speed consistent, avoiding constant braking and accelerating. These factors contribute to the reduction of gas emissions and becoming more environmentally friendly. In conclusion, although self-driving cars pose a certain drawback to the workforce in the transportation sector, their benefits in terms of improving road safety and environmental protection are crucial. With these advantages, there will be a boom in using this new mode in the future.