Write about the following topic: With the rise of e-books come the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Electronic books or e- books have become more popular in recent years which leads to a decline in the number of printed books. While the increasing number of e- books has a huge benefit, it is not without drawbacks, I will elaborate further in this essay. To embark on, people these days prefer e- books to paper books as it is beneficial for various reasons. First of all, compared to the printed version, online books are usually much cheaper as it does not need paper or ink to produce. Secondly, e- books are easy to access from any device which we can carry wherever we go. In other words, we can read as many books in any place without having to carry the heavy load as paper books. However, there are disadvantages to e- books. To be able to open the pdf on our smartphones or laptops, we need power. This means that we cannot access e- books if one's device is low on battery or when the power supply is not available. For example, many of my friends like to spend time in cafes to study or read novels. But sometimes, they ended up going home without finishing the articles because they forget to bring a charger. In addition, sometimes paper books especially rare ones are invaluable. Having to touch these paper books in read it gives us a sense of connection that we would not have when reading a book online. In conclusion, the increasing popularity of e- books has a plethora of advantages as it is convenient and much cheaper compared to the printed versions in general. However, it also has downsides such as it can not be accessed when the battery of one device had run out. As for me, I prefer to read the printed colour book, when it is available in the library.