International tourism has become a huge industry in the world. Do the problems of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, international tourism is growing from year to year and has already become one of the biggest worldwide industries. Like every big business, there are both benefits and troubles. In this essay, both sides will be discussed. To begin with, it is a common belief that one of the main benefits is that the international travelling industry can generate significant incomes which brings prosperity and development to the host country. Thus, these incomes could be used to develop infrastructure and transportation for the residents and travellers. In addition, the tourism industry creates thousands of jobs in many different places, especially in rural areas which improves the local economy. For instance, there is a popular type of accommodation when some locals share their houses with tourists, and some of them tend to sell traditional products and local foods. For this reason, local residents will earn money from these industries. On the other side, drawbacks of international travel also exist, and first of all, the most dramatic issue from that is the pollution of air, water and soil. Thousands of people come to visit the small area at the same time and bring a lot of trash and waste into this place. Moreover, consuming fuels destructively impact the environment due to the increasing amount of transportation. For instance, the carbon footprint has a negative influence on coral reefs near tropical islands and many of them already died by reason of contamination. In conclusion, in the modern world international tourism helps to survive for many countries, the economy of which consists of incomes from tourism, and of course for these countries benefits outweigh the drawbacks, despite that it could cause environmental problems in the near future. The governments should take this issue seriously, otherwise, international tourism has a risk to have more cons than pros.