Writing task : Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today, everything should be done online. Do you agree or disagree

Giving lectures online increased rapidly when covid hit and many countries were forced to be under lockdown. Some students enjoyed this new way of conducting lessons and argued everything should be done online. However, others still preferred the old-school way of teaching. In my opinion, I disagree that teaching should be completely remote. The world first started online lectures when there was a pandemic and we were forced to be in the safety of our homes. At first, many students were thrilled to be attending school from the comfort of their homes, some would say it was a dream come true, although soon enough many were starting to fall behind on classes and assignments. It was hard for teachers,especially older teachers, to cope with these sudden changes as well. Moreover, students were not making things easier for them. For example, some will not turn on their videos or they might be sleeping rather than listening to the lessons. Hence, students were taking advantage of the situation. When lectures were done face to face, the lectures could be more involved with the students needs and wants. A teacher could know if the student is struggling or falling behind. Students could also meet their teachers after class and ask them questions and get a proper explanation as opposed to waiting for an email and not understanding what the teacher is fully saying. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons when it comes to having lectures online as compared to face to face. However, the pros outweigh the cons.