Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

Vertical expansion of buildings has been implemented by some cities as a way of tackling the housing shortage issue, while some others choose horizontal cities. From my perspective, although each has its own merits, I think enlarging the living space on a horizontal scale is a better solution. On the one hand, high-rise buildings carry a risk of degrading the environment despite being the only option for small cities. It appears that there is no alternative way for densely populated towns that lacks unused space but to construct more blocks with higher floors. For instance, Singapore is unable to expand its city limits, so its government needs more higher-building constructions in order that being adequate for the growing population. However, such districts or cities, where so many inhabitants reside in the same neighborhood, may become too overcrowded and clamorous. Thus, the fact that domestic wastes from there are dumped simultaneously may speed up the environmental deterioration process. On the other hand, widening areas of land may improve citizens' health conditions as well as mitigate traffic congestion obstacles. Suburbs not only solve excellently the housing scarcity problem but also provide residents with a sense of privacy and tranquility. Hence, that spacious and nature-oriented zone considerably contributes to a reduction of sound pollution as well as a comfortable living environment, which is beneficial for inhabitants' well-being and mentality. Furthermore, low population density as a result of horizontal expansion can lead to an alleviation of traffic jams, which improves air quality since it would lessen the number of vehicles commuting in the same spot. Therefore, people are given higher living standards by expanding areas of land. In conclusion, I believe that creating housing horizontally is more effective compared to taller-building provisions due to its living-standard improvement.