Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, artificial condition of places such as zoos are becoming more popular all over the world. While there are some advantages of preserving animals in zoos, I would agree that this kind of conservation does has its adverse impacts. On the one hand, it is argued that zoos have benefits on animals for several reasons. Wildlife, especially those are on the verge of extinction, are preserved gene pools by artificial methods, contributing to maintain the breeds. As a result, numerous animals were saved from the risk of rejection. In addition, another purpose of locking creatures in such a narrow space is to defend them from predatory animals while their previous habitats can not, which means these organisms had been always living under the threat of dangerous ones. On the other hand, I believe that it is ruthless to keep wildlife in limited spaces for a number of reasons. Firstly, for the mental health of animals, a long time being confined in small environments and their activities are also controlled by humans, leading to lose their normal physiological activities gradually. On top of that, continual stress hurts their physical health. In fact, wildlife continually stressed in zoos due to small enclosures, fear and poor nutritions are more likely to get sick, resulting in physiological stress response. In conclusion, while living in captivity has its certain benefits, I completely agree that confining animals in such a narrow constricted space can even severely harm them more.