Some people think that using traditions as attractions for money-making will destroy our culture, but others think that there is nothing wrong with attracting tourists that way. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals believe that monetising traditions will destroy culture, while others argue that there is nothing wrong with attracting tourists that way. While both sides of the argument make strong points, I personally strongly agree with the latter view. On one side of the debate, using traditions for monetary purposes can change their true meaning. Traditions are deeply personal practices that are passed down through generations and are often specific to certain countries. Having tourists participate for money-making reasons can make these practices difficult for strangers to understand, as they do not know the history and the deep meaning that is tied to these traditions. The lack of knowledge on certain customs from tourists can lead to the traditions being taught incorrectly or adapted and changed by the wrong individuals engaging with them. For example, geishas are a very well-known Japanese tradition, and they are part of a dying art form because tourists have tampered with it throughout the years. On the other side of the argument, tourism accounts for the total annual income of many countries. A large part of tourism is individuals engaging and experiencing the traditions and customs of the place they are visiting. Without the travel industry, countries would suffer a major loss in profits and would be less prosperous. This affects governments and managing a country's budget, which subsequently also affects residents. Furthermore, local businesses are also impacted by the lack of tourism, many having to close down or reduce their employee count. For instance, the annual carnival in Rio de Janeiro generates a significant portion of Brazil's revenue. In conclusion, I believe there are more social benefits to allowing tourists to participate in traditions that benefit the average person.