Some people want government to spend money on searching for life on other planets. However, others think it is a waste of public money when the earth has so many problems. Discuss these two views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is argued that whether governments should allocate so much money to explore space and stars, searching for other lives. Although pursuing this kind of scientific target has its benefits, I strongly believe that spending taxers' money on tackling the problems of earth is far more a necessity. On the one hand, exploring other planets has its upsides. Firstly, it is an excellent way for us to broaden our horizons. The new findings from other planets may give us inspiration, thus pushing us to produce new types of things. Secondly, since there are more and more problems on earth, for example, climate change and the decrease in biological diversity, a new planet with a suitable environment for people to survive may provide another choice for us. If one day, the issues on earth are too difficult to solve, we could take moving to another planet into consideration. On the other hand, considering the truth that there are so many unsolved problems on earth, I think its benefits are overweighed by its detrimental influence. First and foremost, the more money governments spend on searching for new planets, the less would be left to solve the problems on earth. I concur that mother earth is a blessing for us human beings. As a result, it is our obligation to prevent her from being damaged. Furthermore, the problems of the earth are not too bad, it is not very difficult for us to solve as long as governments have abundant money. For instance, governments could increase subsidies for new-energy vehicles to reduce carbon emissions, which could help us to tackle the problem of climate change. In conclusion, although I admit that exploring other planets has its upsides, I do believe that we should set a priority for solving the problems of the earth.