Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is well-known that road accidents most of the time end in injuries and deaths. Therefore, some individuals believe that the best solution to reduce motor vehicle accidents is to increase the driving requirement age. Although I partially agreed that this approach should reflect a positive influence, in my opinion, long-term and better solutions should be to educate school children and teenagers about driving risks and impose stricter driving rules. On the one hand, young people are not that aware of the consequences of their actions. Firstly, they are more likely to use high speeds when driving a car or motorbike or passing a red traffic light, thus, violating and committing driving offences. Therefore, so many accidents are caused by young drivers. Secondly, the lack of experience to drive a motor vehicle is also a main reason to increase the minimum legal age. It has been proven that passed the 25 years, experienced drivers are capable of handling in a good manner dangerous situations on the roads. Moreover, they are well-prepared by using helmets for instance, when driving a motorbike, and having strong knowledge of the highway code, road safety, and vehicle roads. On the other hand, although increasing the driver’s age to 18 in an attempt to slash the death toll on the roads, other alternatives should be a more significant impact on this problem. Initially, schools could play an important role in teaching children about road safety and driving responsibilities when they are behind the steering wheel. For instance, schools can implement their student’s project-based learning of the results of misbehaving on the roads, as well as, provide knowledge-driving policy guidelines. Furthermore, increasing the penalties and creating stricter laws, as well as, reinforcing the existing ones must be a priority for the government, including measures such as longer sentences in prison and invalid driving licenses. To sum up, although restricting driving permission to a certain age as a solution to reducing traffic accidents seems promising, in my opinion, early education, as well as project-based orientation about driving policies and behaviour, are long-term and best choices to tackle this problem.