Breakthrough in medical science are by far the most significant advances in world society over the last 2 centuries. Discuss the statement and give your opinion.

It might seem overwhelming to think about the major changes that have affected our society in the last 200 years. Yet, discoveries in medical science are definitely the most important. In this essay, I will delve into the reasons why this assertion is true. Undoubtedly, nothing is more relevant than our health. The average lifespan has increased exponentially during the last centuries. If we go back to the 19th century, a simple cut or soar throat could lead to unexpected and premature death. Only a century later, thanks to Alexander Flaming, the inventor of antibiotics, a great threat to our survival like bacteria have been overcome. Since then, new discoveries in medicine have been making the risk of death less likely and relieved many people from tormenting illnesses. Many outstanding discoveries in different fields such as technology and economics have been made as well in the last 2 centuries. Technological devices have allowed us to be constantly connected to our loved ones. New economic schemes allowed the poor population to improve their quality of life and decrease the percentage of people dying from hunger. Nonetheless, all these other breakthroughs have been possible only by the fact that people have lived, largely and without medical issues troubling their minds, to think about new pioneering ideas. In conclusion, I strongly believe that, even if several ideas have improved our lives, discoveries in medical science have impacted the world in the most radical way. Thanks to medical pioneers individuals' lives have become longer and pain-free, creating a better and safer society.