More and more people today are moving away from where their friends and family live. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is a rise in the number of individuals who are moving far away from their homes where friends and family live. It is my belief that the positive effects of this phenomenon could certainly offset its disadvantages. There are several drawbacks to living far away from family. One common disadvantage is that moving away from parents and peers could affect an individual's mental and physical health. This is because without staying close to their beloved ones, people are more likely to experience homesickness, isolation or anxiety. Another negative aspect can be that it leads to poor decisions in daily life. It means that living alone requires professionals to decide independently in every situation. As a result, individuals could get cheated by immoral people due to a lack of guidance and parental cover. For example, as reported by VietNam Express in 2020, there are nearly half of Vietnamese freshmen are scammed each year when looking for accommodation for university education. However, despite these negative effects, being far away from friends and family can bring about crucial benefits. One obvious advantage is that it provides opportunities for personal growth and development. This is because moving away from their parents forces people to be brave and self-sufficient. In fact, people have to learn new skills such as cooking, budgeting, and time management, and develop responsibility for their own well-being. Another positive effect is that each of us could gain new perspectives from realistic life. It means that living in another city help professionals meet other strangers from various provinces and regions, therefore, they could learn others' ways of thinking and problem-solving. Those soft skills are the most vital factors that contribute to a good manner. For example, as reported in Times in 2018, most American parents encourage their children to live apart from their family when they turn 18 in order to let the teenagers learn as many social skills as possible. In conclusion, while moving away from home can offer some disadvantages in terms of getting cheated or mental health problems, the benefits far outweigh them. Parents should choose the appropriate method to educate their kids.