Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all. Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

Compared to conventional times, nowadays, couples prefer to have fewer children or no children at all. This trend is commonly seen in developed countries. In my view, this is a positive development, considering the environmental degradation, concerns around overpopulation, high standard of living, etc. This essay will elucidate my assertions and the reasons for this trend in the forthcoming paragraphs. These days, the cost of accommodation and other essentials is sky-high because of the hike in inflation numbers. Moreover, the wages of workers are not increasing proportionately. Since the cost of living is very high, people are struggling to satisfy their own basic needs. Due to this reason, couples refrain from having children as they cannot afford more expenditure. Further, in the contemporary era, global warming issues are faced throughout the world. So, in order to save the environment from depleting any further, people are consciously taking efforts like growing more trees, using public transportation, using renewable sources of energy, etc. Hence, as the population increases, needs will increase and thereby cause an impact on the environment because we do not have enough resources at our disposal in order to fulfil the growing needs. For all these reasons, people prefer to have fewer or no children at all. In my opinion, this is a good trend as it will ensure the overall prosperity of society. This is because it will resolve the issue of overpopulation and ensure economic stability and environmental well-being. All of this will in turn contribute toward the growth of the society at large.