In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are spending more and more of their time indoors. What do you think are the causes of this problem? What measures could best be taken to solve it?

Nowadays, in many parts of the world, children and teenagers hardly leave their homes, preferring to sit in front of a screen instead of being in the open air. This was not the case even as recently as 10 years ago, when I was a teenager. The causes are many. Firstly, let us consider how social media sites contribute in this direction. In the last few years, their use has grown toxic as teens are more and more addicted to them. They spend their entire day scrolling on their phones over and over again forcing a physical isolation from the real world. This fact creates an imbalance within the relationships as they are based on mere text communication. For this reason, youths feel uncomfortable during live communication and they try to avoid it. Another reason is due to the strange families that are taking place in modern society. On the one hand, parental carelessness for their kids leads them to live with everyday issues all by themselves. On the other hand, parents are getting overprotective so much so that they don’t even let their children practice any sport as they could catch a cold or worse they could get sick. There are a number of measures that could best be taken to solve this problem. First of all, parents should understand how important it is to play sports; I am referring to team sports in particular as they lead inevitably to teamwork and therefore to live communication. Secondly, parents should take better care of their children and control their habits. To conclude, it is parents’ duty to change this situation by letting their kids play a sport and explaining them how important it is to whittle the use of social media down.