Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s modern times, technology has shaped the way we live our lives. These days a lot of people tend to interact with others online through social media platforms instead of meeting in person. While it might be beneficial in some aspect, in my opinion, it is a negative development and can lead to many issues such as isolation, lack of social skills and online scams. To commence with, there is no doubt that social media platforms have changed the perspective towards life and impacted the way we live our day-to-day life. The most significant effect of this development is increased isolation, which in result, has affected the relationship with family and friends. Moreover, using social platform as a mean to interact makes one lose communication skills and consequently can have detrimental effects on person’s confidence. To exemplify, a recent study published by Oxford university stated that people who use social media as a source of interaction are 45% less likely to have public speaking skills. Therefore, socializing through just online platform can be highly damaging to an individual. In addition, interfacing online with strangers can be grave and problematic. There are numerous cases of scams such as identity theft, stealing bank credit cards information and a lot of people become victims of such malpractices. Moreover, online harassment and bullying has become an extremely serious issue, where mostly vulnerable young people are the target of these attacks. To elucidate, research at an institute of psychology in Italy showed that 80% of adolescents have faced harassment online. This can clearly show the glaring disadvantages of resorting to online socializing. To recapitulate, use of online platforms to talk to other people has been on the rise in recent years. Although it can be useful in some case, in my opinion, however, this development has more drawbacks and can yield dangerous results including lack of interpersonal-skills and online fraudulent activities.