The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Amid the conversations regarding education, many people have the sentiment that the benefits of the ever-increasing worldwide ubiquitousness of English will constantly exceed the drawbacks. Personally, I completely agree with this statement. Apparently, it is undeniable that global dominance of English could be the culprit of several issues. To begin with, plenty of people in most countries around the world have the tendency to learn and use English as the main global language in terms of communicating, studying, and working. Consequently, this may lead to adverse impacts on the linguistic diversity in many countries where people usually use English as their main language and gradually abandon their mother tongue. Furthermore, in order to fulfill the professional requirements of a majority of businesses worldwide, including the competence in using English, numerous people may encounter a financial obstacle as it generally costs them a great amount of money to invest in learning English. On the other hand, it is beyond argument that the global spread of English has substantially benefited people in various aspects. Firstly, the ubiquitousness of English has facilitated the global industry of tourism. The popularity of English commonly helps eliminate the barrier of language between indigenous people and foreign tourists, remarkably contributing to the growth of tourism in many countries. In addition, boundless sources of materials written in English have provided the global residents with access to essential knowledge and information about myriad areas, such as science, technology, and education, which are normally unavailable in other languages. This, to some extent, may contribute to the general development of the world. In conclusion, despite some downsides that the worldwide spread of English could bring about, it seems to me that this will continue to have more significant merits.