Nowadays more and more old people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. Why is this the case? What are some possible solutions?

It is apparent that there is a surge in competition for jobs between two generations due to an increased number of talented younger workers. In this essay, I will explore possible reasons of such competition and provide effective insights to deal with this situation. There are a number of factors why more and more old people are facing difficulties to compete with their counterparts. One of the principal cases has to do with the lack of learning capabilities. In other words, seniors are likely not to have an ability of learning quickly and acquiring skills effectively, especially, in technological era. By comparison, young generations are arguably superseding their old ones by having several priorities such as a quality of adapting different working settings, a capability of generating fresh ideas and perspectives. Undoubtedly, it is clear that young people with these practical abilities are able to apply desirable job positions, compared to old ones. Another argument for this situation is that many old people are at a physical and mental disadvantage. In this sense, with the lack of energy, they often tend to be tired both physically and mentally while confronting with high demands of today’s job market, meaning that young people are likely to be highly productive than their older counterparts. Nevertheless, several actions should be taken by old people to make themselves more employable in searching for a job. First and foremost, they should start to broaden their horizons by acquiring needed skills and specific knowledge, which can assist with attracting many employers. In this case, they can improve their skills by taking up professional and individual courses and personal development. Though digital skills are always considered difficult for old people, this knowledge is not unobtainable. Through hard work and commitment, there is no reason why old people cannot learn the knowledge and skills as their young rivals possess. Additionally, in terms of physical disadvantages, old people should simply start to adopt a healthy lifestyle in order to become as productive as young people. Even in some cases, it can be seen that some seniors can sometimes outperform young people physically with a dedicated lifestyle. In conclusion, although the requirements of present job market and some physical and mental inabilities might make an applying procedure challenging for old people, with a commitment to working hard and disciplined lifestyle, it is possible for seniors to reach high job positions.