Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more and more people are spending less time with peers during their spare time. Instead, they prefer to spend their free time alone in a physical isolation, scrolling on their smartphones. Personally, I believe that there are many reasons for this. Firstly, one widely held view is that a strong reason is due to the addiction they create. In fact, year after year, people report feeling more attracted to their smartphones. This affects not only adults but also, and increasingly, teenagers. Secondly, being separated from our phones means being disconnected from the world as we know it. We have become used to communicating only through social media sites and we receive hundreds of notifications per day that force us checking our phones. Many argue that smartphones are terrific tools since they allow us to keep in touch with people all around the world at any time. Nevertheless, I retain that the cons far outweigh the pros. This is because people are disconnected from real life, with their life instead based on mere text communication. Furthermore, a significant aspect is that sitting around moving only our fingers-and-thumbs on the screen leads to an increase in laziness. Because of this, the rate of young people who play sports is gradually decreasing. In conclusion, while it’s true that smartphones may have some positive aspects, I do not think that the use people make of them, such as using them also during their free time, can be considered a positive development at all.