In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In Britain, at old-aged people start to live in care homes where there are other old people and they are all taken care of by the nurses, while the government bears the cost of this care at times and the family of the old people also bear the cost. I am of the opinion that the government should bear a majority of the cost because they have been able to generate enough revenue from the taxes that were paid by these old people during their service years. Firstly, the cost of taking care of the aged people should be paid for by the government of Britain. This cost consists of the salary of the nurses, other administrative staff in the home and the total welfare of the old living in the home. For example, feeding, medication, and regular checkup fees. Support from the family can be done voluntarily but the major bills should be paid by the government Furthermore, the government should bear these costs because they have been able to generate revenue from the taxes paid by most of these aged people during their service years. During the prime productive period of a Britain resident, a particular percentage of your income is deducted from your wages or salary depending on the structure you are been paid with. This deduction goes to the government as your taxes. Therefore, a lot of money would have been generated from every tax paid and still been paid by the young people in service. Some of these can be used to care for the well-being of the old people in our society. For instance, a certain amount is also paid to the less privileged who are also beneficiaries of the government alongside the retired people. In conclusion, families should be encouraged to take their old parents and relatives to home because, the government will bear a majority of the cost through the revenue generated over the years.