Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, children use smartphones constantly as their main source of entertainment. Even though this trend gives kids a convenient way to engage with various types of content, it also makes them less likely to develop positive relationships with peers, so this development is mostly negative. As children spend almost all their leisure time on their smartphones, researchers have realized that most children do this because they do not have many other options for quick entertainment. For example, some families do not go out on the weekends together often, so children stay home and play games or watch movies on their smartphones to entertain themselves any time they feel bored. Also, even if their family plans some special event to do on the weekend, such as a trip to the zoo or the aquarium, these places can be expensive for the whole family to visit or far from home, so these kinds of outings are a rare occurrence, which means that kids will become even more dependent on their smartphones for entertainment. Thus, it is clear that the modern family’s lifestyle encourages young children to spend more and more time on their smartphone. Although smartphones can help kids to conveniently gain exposure to various types of music and TV shows from diverse cultures around the world, the fact that children spend a lot of time on their smartphone is very unfortunate because their obsession with digital content has made them too sensitive to social trends. For example, before everyone had their own smartphone, kids just wanted to spend quality time with each other by playing together; however, nowadays, kids who watch social media influencers on their smartphone often think that they have to buy the latest must-have items to be happy, which has made them care less about getting along with their friends and more about showing off their trendy toys. This shows how widespread use of smartphones has created a destructively materialistic culture among children. In conclusion, modern kids use smartphones often because they can be very entertaining at any time, but dependence on this new culture of instant satisfaction has negatively affected kids because they might not understand the value of real friendship if they become too obsessed with following trends.