Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Recent years have witnessed an occurrence that more criminals tend to reoffend after their first conviction, which is presenting a major concern to society. This essay will state the underlying causes of this problem and propose solutions to deal with it. There are two main reasons why offenders tend to engage in criminal activities again. Firstly, many offenders do not have any sense of repentance after being punished. This roots in their lack of awareness of how serious what they did in the past can be. To illustrate, some even think that the punishment they get is unfair and that they do not make any mistakes, which makes them unsubmissive. Secondly, people having the past taken part in any crime have to face up to stigmatization from others, especially employers. Needless to say, public ridicule is always one of the major fears of criminals, especially those committing jail convictions. For example, some companies refuse to hire people with criminal records, thus, they are at a disadvantage compared with others. As a result, they have a propensity for antisocial attitudes and involvement in criminal events again. How to avert this problem from happening is always a stubborn question. Chief of this is that the approach should start from the root cause. The most noticeable measure is to conduct re-education programs. For instance, authorities can design sessions that help criminals reflect on what they have done and why the court decides that punishment for them. After that, they may repent and try to become a better member of society. Furthermore, jail offenders should be provided with career orientation programs. These programs can cooperate with some local businesses or corporates in order to bring occupation opportunities for them after being released from prison. As a consequence, criminals feel welcomed into the community and have another chance to contribute to society, which motivates them to stay away from social evils. To conclude, with the debate about how to decrease the reoffence rate, it's the action and mindset of authorities, the public, and offenders themselves that is important. It is advisable that authorities should also take the proactiveness apart from depending on criminals ' awareness.