Some people believe that modern technology is encouraging sociable behaviour. Some other people think that it is making people less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, there has been much interest in gaining a better understanding of the impact of technology on people's behaviours. Some people are of the opinion that newer technologies have improved many people's lives, particularly the lives of people who are socially anxious. However, I agree with those who claim that technology impedes people's social skills. In this essay, I will provide the rationale for both viewpoints as well as proffer justification for my own opinion. Recent technological advancements, according to those who espouse the former opinion, can remove the social pressure of face-to-face communication. Online forums and other social medias provide a secure environment to interact with other people as users are not directly exposed to each other. Consequently, they can be particularly useful for shy people. Maybe there is some truth to this claim, and some evidence can be offered to support it. My high school classmate, Laura, is a shining example of this. Laura was an extremely introverted person during high school and was having difficulty developing relationships with other teenagers. She started to use Facebook on a daily basis and, before she knew it, became very good at initiating and maintaining online and face-to-face friendships. Laura's case, while interesting, is very unique and cannot be taken as a representation of the whole population. I firmly believe that oftentimes far more harm than good is done by the use of modern technology. Online communication, for one thing, can make people less considerate of other people' feelings. Needless to say, when users are hidden behind the privacy of their own screen, decency can easily go out of the window. I am hardy alone in this view. In a recent study published in a peer-reviewed journal was found that online communication users tend to use twice as many inappropriate words, such as such as "stupid", "jerk", etc., compared to people who engage to face-to-face interactions. To sum up, although the positive impact of technology on some people's social skills cannot be ignored, I hold to the opinion that it does little good to enhance the social behaviours of the majority of us.