Although modern life has brought with it improvements in people’s standard of living, people are not generally happy with their lives. Do you agree or disagree?

The advancement of technology has brought a drastic change in people's standard of living. They live extravagant lives as compared to their ancestors. But even with all these improvements, some people point out that there is a general sense of sadness in the society. I agree with their views and in this essay, I shall explain the causes of dissatisfaction. The major reason for an individual's unhappiness these days is his deteriorating mental and physical health. Talking about the former, while on one hand, modern life has provided comfort, on the other hand, people have lost touch with their loved ones. Their lives are busy to the extent that they are unable to have healthy and meaningful communication with their family and friends. To quote an instance, a survey showed that 90% of individuals seeking psychological support are living in big cities with luxurious but busy lives. Thus, leading a happening life has a negative impact on the mental well-being of people, which eventually leads to depression and anxiety. In addition, people leading modern and busy lives are unable to manage time for healthy activities or consume healthy food. This has a pernicious impact on their physical well-being which further adds to their traumas. For example, 75% of folks claim that the root cause of their unhappiness is the underlying health issues due to lack of physical exertion owing to their hectic schedules. To recapitulate, while it is incontrovertible that modern life has provided man with opportunities to improve their ways of living, at the same time it has caused discontent amongst people, by aggravating their physical and emotional problems.