An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and healtg care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Obesity in children is becoming an alarming issue which could affect the child's health as they grow older and skyrocketing prices of medical facilities which cannot be afforded by many are raising a serious concern amongst parents. Nowadays, kids do not prefer playing outdoor activities like in the old times, as they have access to digital devices which enables them to play at home indoors. Moreover, the eating habits of children are another issue which is contributing to them being overweight. Children today have become very lazy and lack physical activities and change in their lifestyles are resulting in oversized children. However, parents need to encourage their children to play outdoors, as physical activities will keep them fit. Nevertheless, it is the parent's duty to keep a track of their children's health by enrolling them on sports classes like swimming, basketball, tennis, etc., which could help the child stay active. In addition, limiting processed food and cooking healthy meals for children could help them maintain a gradual weight as per their age. Schools need to increase physical activities for children which will help them stay active and stay healthy. Teachers should create awareness amongst children by educating them about good and bad food habits. To conclude, parents need to encourage their children to eat home-cooked meals and encourage children to play in the fields. A family picnic on weekends could also help them maintain their physical fitness level.