It is believed that secondary school children should study international news as one of their school subjects. Others think that this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People's opinions differ as to whether or not international news should be a part of educational programs. While there are some arguments against this subject, I affirm that international sources of information should be studied at school. There are several reasons why people do not support the idea of studying international news by teenagers. Firstly, children have a lot of fundamental subjects such as mathematics or literature to focus on. At the same time, international news is not as important as science, therefore, it is not useful to implement this new subject in school programs. For example, countries such as Russia have extremely strong schools with a focus on natural science and Russian pupils would not cope with all the subjects. Moreover, modern children are really overloaded with different school activities and they need to have time to kill. There were some cases when kids were exhausted by school programs. Hence, an extra subject, such as journalism is not a good idea. In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that international news would be really useful for teens. Journalism develops critical thinking skills and helps to socialize. Students, who study international news are rather communicative than others. American and European students became more culture vultures after the implementation of this subject in the school program. Furthermore, international news would help students to become more intelligent. European schools combine science and arts to educate fully developed students. To sum up, international news would be a really useful subject for students and would help them to improve their soft skills.