In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. 🔸What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

We all love our children and support them to be the most of their selves. As seeking to achieve that, we follow different ways according to our standpoints and experiences. As known, every followed method has pros and cons. One of the common methods which parents embrace is to encourage children to work harder to reach their aims. Although it has many advantages,the disadvantages of it, I think, exceed the advantages. First of all, motivating kids to make more effort teaches them many things. Starting with persistence and a strong will which helps them achieve their goals now and later. Crossing to never giving up and trying again stronger after every failure. Ending with seeking their dreams whatever it costs. These lessons and more are benefits in their life. For example, we were taught cycling by trying again harder, as we had to learn how to stay balanced by keep trying more and more. On the other hand, we can't reach everything we want by increasing our effort, because sometimes the problem is not how much we give. The problem could be the way we choose to follow so working harder will not give us the results that we have waited for. For example, repeating the same mistakes while you are writing without checking and correcting them will not improve your writing even if you write a book. To sum up, as a person who believes in a moral - Don't work hard, work smart - I can say that moving a rock by pushing it hard will not help as figuring out a special way to move it easily with as little as possible of an effort. I believe that every child is special so we have to create a special way to motivate them according to their characters and features.