Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world a lot of people with health issues are progressively looking for alternative treatments rather than consulting their general practitioner (GP). The number of patients with chronic health issues let to an increase of searches for non-mainstream health concepts. I argue that this trend is fundamentally dangerous, albeit the positive notion that patients take responsibility for their health. It is commendable that a growing number of people, especially those with chronic ailments, want to improve their conditions. Access to a multitute of resources like books, specialised magazines, the internet and a divers range of health practitioners al culminate in a vast amount of information available. However, without a basic understanding of the body and disease, it can be a frustrating and even dangerous task to apply the correct treatment. In my opinion as a doctor, though not a physician, I see self-prescriped treatment plans as a serious threat to the patient’s health. Even some non-traditional health practitioners may suggest dangerous options or at best prescribe harmless medicinals. Moreover, a GP has usually known the patient for some time and has familiarised him-/herself with the patient’s health record. An initimate knowledge of circumstances, family history and individual specifics all play an important role in the treatment plan. To conclude, more and more people, especially those with permanent impairments or chronic diseases, seek out new sources of help. Although it is a positive development, I firmly believe that it is of utmost importance to have a well-balanced view of the patient and the disease. Therefore, I think self-treatment is more often dangerous than beneficial.