Online shopping is now replacing shopping in the store. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Looking at the world it is clear that we can now purchase anything with the touch of a screen. While many people believe that this is a less-than-desirable phenomenon, my view is that this can benefit us in many ways. In fact, online shopping is more efficient than shopping in retail stores. The reason behind this is that online stores are often enhanced by a solid logistic system where as physical stores do not even have enough stocks available for sale. For example, Amazon offers a same-day delivery system that enables its customer to receive goods and services on a timely basis, which is not feasible when shopping in retails. Likewise, e-shops tend to provide lower costs. Consider also that when operating a physical supermarket like Walmart, fixed costs such as rent, utility bills, and administrative overheads, all of which are big payments the company has to pay. Nevertheless, only a laptop is required for owners who want to conduct business online. Those who harbour the view that e-stores are a poor substitute for traditional shops may argue that online shoppers are more likely to become victims of fraud. Indeed, it is not uncommon to see that many greedy firms post misleading information about their products on the Internet to gain attention from consumers. However, governments could shoulder the responsibility and introduce more restrictive laws to prevent the public from viewing the misrepresented information. This seems like a reasonable compromise. In conclusion, online shopping not only boosts our efficiency but also promotes economies of scale. Meanwhile, we ought to make an effort to distinguish between reliable and fake products. Only by doing so can we have a better shopping atmosphere for everyone.